NEW OIL PAINTINGS COMPLETED – VOLLEYBALL AND IRISH GUARDS

I have now photographed my new paintings in oil.

Irish guards band and girls at the Polo

Irish Guards Band and Girls, Windsor Polo

Polo in Windsor Great Park, and Beach Volleyball in Jamaica.

The largest oil painting I have given the title Irish Guards Band and Girls, Windsor Polo, it was a really difficult painting! I used sketches which I had made of the Cartier polo match of 2008, when Dubai and Broncos were the teams involved. In addition to this, I used photos taken last year, 2010, at the same Cartier match, but with the band of the Irish Guards playing, and showing some of the spectators, including the very pretty girls, with their cameras. The uniform of the Guards Bandsmen was particularly difficult to paint. What interested me was the brilliance of the colours at this spectacle, the atmosphere of an exciting sporting event and the dynamism provided by the contrast between the highly disciplined guardsmen and the excited spectators (who no doubt had had some ‘bubbly’, as is usual at the polo event of the year)

OIL PAINTING OF IRISH GUARDS BAND AND GIRLS, POLO

IRISH GUARDS BAND AND GIRLS, DETAIL

