EDNA RUNS LONDON MARATHON – PAINTING

OIL PAINTING FOR BANKSIDE GALLERY EXHIBITION

This is the completed painting which I have submitted for inclusion in the South London Women Artists exhibition

LONDON MARATHON PAINTING

EDNA RUNS LONDON MARATHON

This painting is oil on canvas. It includes, in a loose and vivid way, the scene of the London Marathon in 2011, when passing near Westminster Tube Station and the Houses of Parliament, London.

You can see I have selected to paint one of the elite female runners, Edna Kiplagat from Kenya.

My working drawings were done in pencil, on the day last April when I visited the Marathon.

Marathon pencil sketch

PENCIL SKETCH LONDON MARATHON 1

PENCIL SKETCH MARATHON

PENCIL SKETCH LONDON MARATHON 2

I also used some of my photographs for extra details, since I could not capture all the activity and the various vignettes of activity going on.

 

